Shortlisted Announced for Australian Music Prize – Billboard


Albums by Sampa The Great, Julia Jacklin, King Stingray and Tasman Keith are among the many finalists for the 18th annual Australian Music Prize, particulars for which had been introduced this week.


See newest movies, charts and information

See newest movies, charts and information

Additionally within the hunt are longplays by 1300, Physique Sort, Camp Cope, Laura Jean and Social gathering Dozen.

The final word winner will probably be revealed March 1 in Sydney, when the champ will probably be introduced with a A$30,000 ($21,000) bounty, courtesy of main sponsor Soundmerch.

Gross sales and chart positions don’t have any bearing on the consequence. It’s the artistry of the entry that counts.

“But once more we now have a really robust listing,” feedback AMP founder and prize director Scott B. Murphy. “It’s extremely numerous and really captures one other yr of the world’s greatest music. I sincerely thank the Soundmerch AMP group of judges – their donation of time and keenness is way better than what most individuals would assume.”

Sampa The Nice has kind with the AMP.

The Zambian-born, Botswana-raised, Melbourne-based hip-hop artist bagged the celebrated prize in 2017 for the mixtape Birds And The BEE9, and once more in 2020 with The Return, to grow to be the primary and solely artist to win the celebrated award twice. Sampa had one other world-first in 2020, when she was named because the first-ever BET Amplified global artist.

The AMP is modeled on Britain’s Mercury Music Prize and Canada’s Polaris Prize, the objective of which is to determine and reward the excellent inventive Australian album of the previous yr.

The 9 shortlisted recordings are drawn from a longlist of 490 eligible Australian albums launched in 2022, all of which had been individually reviewed by a panel of music consultants.

This yr, the home associates of EMI, Virgin and Island are on board to sponsor the shortlist by every contributing A$3,000 ($2,100) for a funding pool, which shortlisted artists can drawn on to make sure they’ll attend the winner announcement occasion.

Genesis Owusu’s lauded assortment Smiling With No Tooth received the prize final time, beating out recordings by Nick Cave, Hiatus Kaiyote and others.

The shortlist of the 18th Soundmerch AMP:
1300 – International Language
Physique Sort – Every part Is Harmful However Nothing’s Stunning
Camp Cope – Operating With The Hurricane
Julia Jacklin – Pre Pleasure
King Stingray – King Stingray
Laura Jean – Amateurs
Social gathering Dozen – The Actual Work
Sampa The Nice – As Above, So Under
Tasman Keith – A Color Undone

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here