Sade, Snoop Dogg & More – Billboard


Sade Adu, Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Jeff Lynne and Liz Rose are among the many songwriters who will likely be inducted into the Songwriters Corridor of Fame on the group’s 52nd annual Induction and Awards Gala. The gala is slated for Thursday, June 15, on the Marriott Marquis Lodge in New York Metropolis.

4 of this yr’s honorees first gained fame in teams, however are being inducted right here as people. They’re Sade Adu (Sade), Estefan (Miami Sound Machine), Lynne (ELO) and Teddy Riley (Man).

Three have been born exterior the U.S. – Sade Adu (Nigeria), Estefan (Cuba) and Lynne (England).

The honorees vary in age from 51-year-old Snoop to 75-year-old Lynne.

This would be the fifth consecutive induction ceremony at which a songwriter related to rap or hip-hop has been honored. Snoop follows Jay-Z (2017), Jermaine Dupri (2018), Missy Elliott (2019), and Chad Hugo and Pharrell Williams of The Neptunes (2022). (There have been no induction ceremonies in 2020-21 due to the pandemic).

That is the newest in a collection of main honors for Estefan, who obtained the Kennedy Heart Honors in 2017 and, together with her husband Emilio Estefan, the Gershwin Prize for Common Tune in 2019.

Lynne was inducted into the Rock and Roll Corridor of Fame in 2017 as a member of ELO.

Rose is nominated for a Grammy for track of the yr on the sixty fifth annual Grammy Awards on Feb. 5 for the expanded model of Taylor Swift’s “All Too Effectively.” It’s her third nomination in that class.

The Songwriters Corridor of Fame (SHOF) was established in 1969. A songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the primary important industrial launch of a track.

“The music trade doesn’t exist with out songwriters delivering nice songs first,” SHOF chairman Nile Rodgers (a 2016 SHOF inductee) stated in an announcement. “With out them there is no such thing as a recorded music, no live performance enterprise, no merch … nothing, all of it begins with the track and the songwriter.”

Twelve performing songwriters or songwriting groups and 12 non-performing songwriters or songwriting groups have been on the poll to hitch the SHOF.

Performing songwriters who have been handed over within the voting this yr are Bryan Adams, Vince Gill, Patti Smith and Steve Winwood, plus 4 collectives — Clem Burke/Debbie Harry/Chris Stein (Blondie); Tom Johnston/Michael McDonald/Patrick Simmons (The Doobie Brothers); Ann Wilson/Nancy Wilson (Coronary heart); and Invoice Berry/Peter Buck/Mike Mills/Michael Stipe (REM).

Non-performing songwriters who have been handed over within the voting this yr are Dean Dillon, Franne Golde, Roger Nichols, Dean Pitchford and Tom Snow, plus 4 collaborations — Lynn Ahrens/Stephen Flaherty; Bobby Hart/Tommy Boyce; Sandy Linzer/Denny Randell; and Dan Penn/Spooner Oldham.

Recipients of particular awards, together with the Johnny Mercer Award, the SHOF’s high honor, will likely be introduced later.

Tickets for the Songwriters Corridor of Fame occasion start at $2,000 every, and can be found by means of Buckley Corridor Occasions, (914) 579-1000 and To affix the Songwriters Corridor of Fame, go to: part of.

Listed below are the seven songwriters who will likely be inducted in 2023. The SHOF equipped the titles of the 5 songs listed after every nominee’s identify, however stresses that these “are merely a consultant pattern of their in depth catalogs.”

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here