2024 Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees (Full List): Tracy Chapman – Billboard


Lower than two weeks after she received a CMA Award for track of the 12 months for her traditional “Quick Automobile,” Tracy Chapman was nominated to hitch the 2024 class of inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF). Twelve performing songwriters and 10 non-performing songwriters are nominated. Three songwriters from every of these classes shall be inducted on the 2024 SHOF Induction & Awards Gala in New York Metropolis in June 2024.

Hillary Lindsey, who was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Corridor of Fame in 2022, is nominated right here, as is Dean Dillon, a 2002 inductee into the Nashville SHOF.

Seven of this 12 months’s SHOF nominees are within the Rock and Roll Corridor of Fame – George Clinton (Parliament/Funkadelic went into the Rock Corridor in 1997); Donald Fagen & Walter Becker (Steely Dan was honored by the Rock Corridor in 2001); Debbie Harry, Chris Stein & Clem Burke (Blondie bought the Rock Corridor nod in 2006); Invoice Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills & Michael Stipe (R.E.M. was honored by the Rock Corridor in 2007); Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson (Coronary heart was saluted by the Rock Corridor in 2013); Chuck D and Taste Flav (Public Enemy went into the Rock Corridor in 2013); and Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons & Michael McDonald (The Doobie Brothers bought the Rock Corridor nod in 2020).

Becker, who died in 2017, is that this 12 months’s solely posthumous nominee.

Kenny Loggins and Dean Pitchford, who collaborated on Loggins’ 1984 smash “Footloose,” a No. 1 hit on the Billboard Hot 100, are individually nominated.

Fourteen songwriters are nominated as people. 5 two-member groups are nominated, as are two three-member groups and one four-member crew (the previous members of R.E.M.)

A songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the primary vital industrial launch of a track. Eligible voting members have till midnight ET on Dec. 27 to show in ballots, with their selections of three nominees from every class.

Right here’s the whole record of SHOF’s 2024 nominees. The SHOF equipped the 5 track titles which can be listed after every songwriter’s identify. The group stresses “Please be aware that the 5 songs listed after every nominee are merely a consultant pattern of their intensive catalogs.” In lots of instances right here, that’s an understatement.

Performing Songwriters

Bryan Adams – “(All the things I Do) I Do It For You,” “Heaven,” “All For Love,” “Have You Ever Actually Cherished A Lady?,” “Summer season of ’69”

Randy Bachman & Burton Cummings – “These Eyes,” “American Lady,” “Laughing,” “No Time,” “No Sugar Tonight”

Debbie Harry, Chris Stein & Clem Burke p/okay/a Blondie – “Name Me,” “Coronary heart of Glass,” “Rapture,” “One Method or One other,” “Sunday Lady”

Tracy Chapman – “Quick Automobile,” “Talkin’ ‘Bout a Revolution,” “Give Me One Motive,” “Child Can I Maintain You,” “Sing for You”

George Clinton – “Atomic Canine,” “Flashlight,” “(Not Simply) Knee Deep,” “P-Funk,” “Give Up the Funk”

Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons & Michael McDonald p/okay/a Doobie Brothers – “Hearken to the Music,” “Lengthy Practice Runnin,’” “What a Idiot Believes,” “China Grove,” “Black Water”

David Gates – “All the things I Personal,” “Make It With You,” “Child I’m-a Need You,” “The Guitar Man,” “If”

Ann Wilson & Nancy Wilson p/okay/a Coronary heart – “Barracuda,” “Loopy on You,” “Canine and Butterfly,” “Straight On,” “Even It Up”

Kenny Loggins – “Danny’s Track,” “Footloose,” “Have fun Me Residence,” “Return to Pooh Nook,” “What a Idiot Believes”

Carlton Douglas Ridenhour p/okay/a Chuck D, William Jonathan Drayton p/okay/a Taste Flav, p/okay/a Public Enemy – “Battle the Energy,” “Carry the Noise,” “Don’t Imagine the Hype,” “Can’t Truss It,” Black Metal within the Hour of Chaos”

Invoice Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills & Michael Stipe, p/okay/a R.E.M. – “Dropping My Faith,” “Everyone Hurts,” “It’s the Finish of the World As We Know It (And I Really feel Fantastic),” “Radio Free Europe,” “The One I Love”

Donald Fagan & Walter Becker p/okay/a Steely Dan – “Reelin’ within the Years,” “My Previous College,” “Rikki Don’t Lose That Quantity,” “Black Friday,” “Child Charlemagne”

Non-Performing Songwriters

L. Russell Brown – “Sock It to Me – Child!,” “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Around the Ole Oak Tree,” “C’mon Marianne,” “Knock Three Instances,” “Use It Up and Put on It Out”

Dean Dillon – “Tennessee Whiskey,” “Ocean Entrance Property,” “Right here For a Good Time,” “The Chair,” “I’m Alive”

Dennis Lambert & Brian Potter – “Ain’t No Lady (Just like the One I’ve Obtained),” “Don’t Pull Your Love,” “Nightshift,” “One Tin Soldier (Theme from Billy Jack),” “We Constructed This Metropolis”

Hillary Lindsey – “Jesus Take the Wheel,” “Blue Ain’t Your Colour,” “Lady Crush,” “At all times Bear in mind Us This Method,” “Million Causes”

Tony Macaulay – “Child Now That I’ve Discovered You,” “Construct Me Up Buttercup,” “Don’t Give Up On Us,” “Final Evening I Didn’t Get To Sleep At All,” “Love Grows (The place My Rosemary Goes)”

Timothy Mosley p/okay/a Timbaland – “Attractive Again,” “Get Yer Freak On,” “Pony,” “Massive Pimpin,’” “The Method I Are”

Roger Nichols – “We’ve Solely Simply Begun,” “Wet Days and Mondays,” “I Received’t Final a Day With out You,” “Out within the Nation,” “Instances of Your Life”

Dean Pitchford – “Footloose,” “Fame,” “Holding Out for a Hero,” “All of the Man That I Want,” “Let’s Hear It for the Boy”

Maurice Starr – “Sweet Lady,” “I’ll Be Loving You (Eternally),” “Is This the Finish,” “Step by Step,” “Popcorn Love”

Narada Michael Walden – “How Will I Know,” “Freeway of Love,” “Who’s Zoomin’ Who,” “I Don’t Wanna Cry,” “I Shoulda Cherished Ya”

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here